The Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Accountability Act was approved to ensure that all drivers are financially responsible for the death or injury they cause to a person or the damage to property they may cause while driving a vehicle. All vehicle owners and / or drivers in Texas must have at least the minimum amount of liability insurance.
As of January 1, 2011, the minimum amount of liability insurance is:
• $ 30,000 against injury or death of one person.
• $ 60,000 against the injury or death of two or more people.
• $ 25,000 against property damage.
Under the provisions of the law, in order for a driver to comply with the Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Law, they must, unless exempt, have liability insurance or be insured. Evidence of financial responsibility must be presented when applying for a driver’s license, registering a vehicle, or obtaining a vehicle inspection report.
Every owner or driver of a vehicle in Texas must provide evidence of financial responsibility when requested to do so by a law enforcement official, or to another person involved in a collision.
The following list includes items that are accepted as evidence of financial responsibility:
1. A liability insurance policy for at least the minimum amounts.
2. A conventional proof of a liability insurance form ordered by the Texas Department of Insurance and issued by a liability insurer that includes:
to. The name of the insurer, the insurance policy number and the period of validity of the policy.
b. The name and address of the insured.
c. The policy limits or a statement that the policy coverage meets the minimum amounts of liability insurance required by this law.
d. The make and model of covered vehicles.
3. A certificate of coverage stating that the owner and / or driver is current.
4. A certificate issued by the state comptroller showing that the vehicle owner has a deposit with the comptroller of at least $ 55,000 in cash or securities.
5. A security bond issued by DPS showing that the vehicle has a bond on file with DPS.
6. A certificate or copy of a certificate issued by the county court in which the vehicle is registered showing that the owner of the vehicle has a deposit with the county court of at least $ 55,000 in cash or cashier’s check.
7. A certificate or copy of a self-insurance certificate, issued by DPS, showing that the person has more than 25 vehicles registered in their name.
8. An image on a wireless communication device showing the information required on a conventional insurance form. This option is not acceptable for the issuance or administration of driver license exams.
If a person does not provide proof of financial responsibility when requested, they may receive a subpoena. The court may drop the charges if the person provides proof that the liability insurance policy was in effect when the citation was issued.
A driver may be penalized when convicted of driving a vehicle without sufficient proof of financial responsibility, as required.